Tampa Theatre’s Summer Classics Series kicks off this weekend with ‘The Wizard of Oz’

It runs through Sept. 2 and features more than a dozen films.

click to enlarge Dr. Stephen Ball will play the Tampa Theatre's mighty Wurlitzer for two silent films during the venue's Summer Movie Classics series running June 4-Sept. 2, 2021. - Javi Ortiz
Javi Ortiz
Dr. Stephen Ball will play the Tampa Theatre's mighty Wurlitzer for two silent films during the venue's Summer Movie Classics series running June 4-Sept. 2, 2021.


Happy dance is happening over here because Tampa Theatre's Summer Classics series starts tonight, June 4, with the creepily, fantastic “The Wizard of Oz” screening at 7:30 p.m. and two more times on June 5-6.

Since the historic movie house is still acting at reduced-capacity, almost all films will be shown more than once during Sunday matinees and a Thursday evening screening, with the only exception being this “Wonderful Wizard Weekend” where the venue is showing the 1939 classic three times over the weekend. 

Other movies on the roster are Alfred Hitchcock’s “North by Northwest” starring the charmingly handsome Cary Grant and the Mel Brooks’ classic “Young Frankenstein.”

Two silent films “The Gold Rush” and “The Black Pirate” will be accompanied by the theater’s number one stunner—the Mighty Wurlitzer Theatre Organ—played by Dr. Steven Ball. In fact, Jill Witecki, Director of Marketing & Community Relations at Tampa Theatre, said that there’s a volunteer lined up to play the Wurlitzer at “if not all, then 98% of the summer classics dates.” 

Some of the films will be followed by in-depth talks led by local experts like critic Steve Persall and former University of South Florida professor Harriet Deer.

Tickets for the Summer Classics are $10 at the box office and $12 online—the silent ones are $13-$15. Members get discounts for both. For more information, go to tampatheatre.org

Tampa Theatre Summer Classics 2021 lineup
*silent movie w/Dr. Stephen Ball on Wurlitzer

  • Wizard of Oz Friday-Saturday, June 4-5 (7:30 p.m.) and Sunday, June 6 (3 p.m.)
  • Airplane! Sunday, June 13 (3 p.m.) and Thursday, June 17 (7:30 p.m.) 
  • The Gold Rush Sunday, June 20, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, June 24 (7:30 p.m.)*
  • Citizen Kane Sunday, June 27, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, July 1 (7:30 p.m.) 
  • Glory Sunday,July 4 (3 p.m.) and Thursday, July 8 (7:30 p.m.)
  • North By Northwest Sunday, July 11 (3 p.m.) and Thursday, July 15 (7:30 p.m.)
  • The Big Lebowski Sunday, July 18, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, July 22 (7:30 p.m.)
  • Jaws Sunday, July 25, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, July 29 (7:30 p.m.)
  • Some Like It Hot Sunday, Aug. 1, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, Aug. 5 (7:30 p.m.)
  • Singin’ in the Rain Sunday, Aug. 8, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, Aug. 12 (7:30 p.m.)
  • Young Frankenstein Sunday, Aug 15, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, Aug. 19 (7:30 p.m.)
  • Casablanca Sunday, Aug. 22, 3:30 p.m. and Thursday, Aug. 26 (7:30 p.m.)
  • The Black Pirate Sunday, Aug. 29, (3 p.m.) and Thursday, Sept. 2 (7:30 p.m.)*

Support local journalism in these crazy days. Our small but mighty team is working tirelessly to bring you up to the minute news on how Coronavirus is affecting Tampa and surrounding areas. Please consider making a one time or monthly donation to help support our staff. Every little bit helps.

Subscribe to our newsletter and follow @cl_tampabay on Twitter. 

About The Author

Stephanie Powers

Freelance contributor Stephanie Powers started her media career as an Editorial Assistant long ago when the Tampa Bay Times was still called the St. Petersburg Times. After stints in Chicago and Los Angeles, where she studied improvisation at Second City Hollywood, she came back to Tampa and stayed put.She soon...
Scroll to read more Events & Film articles
Join the Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.

Newsletters

Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Creative Loafing Tampa Bay. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Creative Loafing Tampa Bay, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected]