Listen: Rick Ross feat. Young Jeezy, "War Ready"

A long and ominous banger off the Miami rapper's forthcoming LP, Mastermind.

Share on Nextdoor

Former correctional officer turned drug-dealer name-jacker turned Wingstop-owning rapper, Rick Ross will return with his sixth album Mastermind (via Def Jam) on March 4. The follow-up to 2012's God Forgives, I Don't will feature a primo guest list of banner hip hop names today including Big Sean, Kanye West, Meek Mill, Lil Wayne and Jay-Z, who appears on "The Devil is a Lie", a blunderous soul banger that showed some good promise as the album's first single when it was dropped back in December.

Today, along with the Mastermind track list, a new song has appeared and it features Ross' apparently-former beef, Young Jeezy.

The over seven minute track "War Ready" features a syrupy-slow trudge of snare crunches, gun shots and buzzy synths layered beneath Ross, who sounds like a menacing 10,000-lb version of himself, and Jeezy, who comes off absolutely ferocious with a double-time verse that's hard not to head-bop to.

Ross has never been a proficient rapper, but the dude sure knows how to set a mood, surround himself with the right talent, and execute consistently. Listen to "War Ready" and check out the Mastermind track list below...

" width="480" height="300" scrolling="no">

01 “Intro”
02 “Rich Is Gangsta”
03 “Drug Dealers Dream”
04 “Shots Fired”
05 “Nobody”
06 “The Devil Is a Lie” (Feat. Jay Z)
07 “Mafia Music III” (Feat. Sizzla & Mavado)
08 “War Ready” (Feat. Jeezy)
09 “What A Shame”
10 “Supreme”
11 “BLK & WHT”
12 “Dope Bitch Skit”
13 “In Vein” (Feat. The Weeknd)
14 “Sanctified” (Feat. Kanye West & Big Sean)
15 “Walkin on Air” (Feat. Meek Mill)
16 “Thug Cry” (Feat. Lil Wayne)
(via MTV)

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.