New Music Tuesday (April 17): Neon Trees, Eric Hutchinson, Spiritualized, Jack Johnson + more

New releases out this week, with lots of audio & video.

CopperWire, Earthbound (Porto-Franco Records)
An Ethiopian-American collaboration between rapper Gabriel Teodros, singer-songwriter Meklit Hadero and producer Ellias Fullmore (a.k.a. Burntface) — present a “sci-fi journey” as the group channels Sun Ra and George Clinton’s Funkadelic/Parliament “through skittering club beats, lush strings and sound effects courtesy of NASA. Check out a few tracks below.

DragonForce, The Power Within (Roadrunner)

Future, Pluto (Epic)
The rapper from Atlanta's Dungeon Family Collective follows a string of well-regarded mixtapes with an Epic record deal and a solo debut full-length, which features guest appearances by the likes of Drake, T.I., R. Kelly, Big Rube and Snoop Dogg. Video for "Magic" with T.I. below.

Grinderman, Grinderman 2 RMX (Anti-)

Garrison Hawk with Sly & Robbie, Survive (Mod Technologies)
Hawk (aka Hawkman) releases his long awaited debut solo record featuring back-up from vet Jamaican rhythm section Sly & Robbie and production by Bill Laswell; his sound mixes hardcore dancehall, reggaeton, and hip-hop that reflect his multi-cultural upbringing in Jamaica and NYC.

Headlights, Kill Them With Kindness (Polyvinyl)

The High Strung, ?Posible o' Imposible? (PaperThin)

Horse Feathers, Cynic's New Year (Kill Rock Stars)

Eric Hutchinson, Moving Up Living Down (Warner Bros.)
The fourth studio full-length from the singer-songwriter and follow-up to his 2008 breakthrough, Sounds Like This. Check out the video for bittersweet pop rock ode, “Watching You Watch Him” below.

Janis Joplin, The Pearl Sessions (Sony Legacy)
Legacy Recordings presents a newly-curated two-disc edition of Joplin's final studio album that, along with the original album and original mono singles from the album ("Cry Baby," "Get It While You Can," "Me and Bobby McGee"), includes never before released behind-the-scenes recordings, candid studio dialogue, song demos and alternate takes of nine previously unissued tracks.

Jack Johnson and Friends, Best of Kokua Festival (Brushfire Records)
A 13-track compilation culled from six years of live performances from Jack Johnson’s eco-minded benefit concert for the Kokua Hawaii Foundation. Proceeds from the record also benefit the foundation. Highlights include with Willie Nelson, Jackson Browne, Eddie Vedder, Ben Harper, Dave Mathews, and Ziggy and Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley, among others.

Joyce Manor, Of All Things I Will Soon Grow Tired (Asian Man)

Lioness, The Golden Killer (New Romantic)
Formed in 2007 by bassist Ronnie Morris, drummer Jeff Scheven and and vocalist Vanessa Fischer, this Toronto trio produces dark indie dance rock. Listen to "The Night" below.

LoCura, Semilla Caminante (self-release)
Led by bilingual vocalist Katalina Miletich (who sings in both Spanish and English), San Francisco's LoCura plays an up-lifting mix of Flamenco, rock, Cumbia and ska. LoCura's official music video for "[email protected]" was filmed in the Mission District of San Francisco and Bolinas Ridge by Juano Ignacio Bello.

Maps & Atlases, Beware And Be Grateful (Barsuk)
The sophomore full-length from the Chicago prog-folk experimental outfit that hits Crowbar May 26.

JD McPherson, Signs & Signifiers (Rounder)

Moonface, With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery (Jagjaguwar)

Jason Mraz, Love Is A four Letter Word (Atlantic)

Neon Trees, Picture Show (Mercury)

Orbital, Wonky (Downtown Records)
The British electronic music pioneers issues their first new album in eight years; Wonky sees its U.S. release on this date.

Our Lady Peace, Curve (eOne Music)

Pinetop Perkins, Heaven (Blind Pig)

Rebecca Pidgeon, Slingshot (Decca)

Jon Porras, Black Mesa (Thrill Jockey)

Primal Rock Rebellion, Awoken Broken (Fontana International)
Featuring Iron Maiden's Adrian Smith and former SikTh's Mikee Goodman.

Pete Seeger, The Complete Bowdoin College Concert 1960 (Smithsonian Folkways)
A blacklist-era live album by folk song revivalist, civil rights advocate, and social activist Pete Seeger, recorded live on campus at the Brunswick, Maine, school in 1960.

Radio Moscow, 3 & 3 Quarters (Alive)

Ruby Fray, Pith (K Records)

Spiritualized, Sweet Heart Sweet Light (Fat Possum)
The seventh album from the eccentric British alt rock group led by Jason Pierce. The band spent two years recording the album, in three different cities and frontman Pierce spent another year mixing it at home. NSFW Video for first single "Hey Jane" directed by AG Rojas below.

SWV, I Miss Us (eOne)

Thousand Foot Krutch, The End Is Where We Begin (TFK Music)

Yann Tiersen, Skyline (Anti/Epitaph)
The seventh studio album deals with somewhat darker subject matter than its predecessor and layers of vintage synths, buzzy bass and electric guitar distortion. "Monuments" (video below) ponders our place in the world and the traces of ourselves we leave behind – "All monuments of men, they’re sinking in vain."

Sidi Toure, Koima (Thrill Jockey Records)
The second full-length album by the Malian songwriter and guitarist, who’s informed by western blues, rock, and culture.

Train, California 37 (Columbia)

The Wave Pictures, Long Black Cars (Moshi Moshi)
British trio has a dozen albums under their belts and this is their latest full-length. Check out the video for the single "Spaghetti” below.

Loudon Wainwright III, Older Than My Old Man Now (2nd Story Sound Records)

We Were Serenades, Criminal Heaven (Interscope)

Dar Williams, In The Time Of Gods (Razor & Tie)

Hank Williams III, Long Gone Daddy (Curb)

Not so many releases out this April 17, likely because they’ve been busy prepping limited releases for the fifth annual edition of Record Store Day this Saturday, April 21. Stay tuned for info on RSD releases to look out for; in the meantime, I've included info and links for the 4/17 releases you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months ...

Battles, Dross Glop Remix (Warp)

Bleeding Knees Club, Nothing To Do (IAMSOUND)
The studio debut from the new Aussie duo hits U.S. shelves this week. Check out the video for first single "Teenage Girls" - originally on a 2011 EP - below.

Chris Botti, Impressions (Columbia)
On his new album, the smooth jazz trumpeter performs songs by Randy Newman, Herbie Hancock, R. Kelly and George Gershwin, among others, with superstar guests Vince Gill, Herbie Hancock, Andrea Bocelli, David Foster and Mark Knopfler.

Butterfly Boucher, Butterfly Boucher (Situation Operation)
Another Aussie, this one a singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist originally signed to the now-dead A&M Records; her '04 debut Flutterby drew notice from the likes of David Bowie, Madonna, Ben Folds, and Sarah McLachlan, who she toured with as bassist and back-up singer in 2011. Her third album is smart indie pop with alt rock muscle. Check out "5678!" after the jump, along with the rest of this week's new music releases.

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.