New Music Tuesday! (April 8): John Frusciante, Chuck Inglish, OFF!, The Mary Onettes & more

Releases out this week; audio & video included.

The second week of new releases in April! Info and links for the releases you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to see releases from the past several weeks…

Avey Tare’s Slasher Flicks, Enter The Slasher House (Domino)
You'd think, based on the name, that the Animal Collective musician is making some sort of music appropriate for horror films. But no, not exactly. Tare with keyboardist/singer Angel Deradoorian (Dirty Projectors, Deradoorian), and drummer Jeremy Hyman (Ponytail, Dan Deacon) deliver dark and jangly pop songs with light retro appeal.

Betty Who, Somebody Loves You EP (RCA)

Black Label Society, Catacombs Of The Black Vatican (Entertainment One)

Bright Light Bright Light, I Wish We Were Leaving EP (Self Raising Records)
Elton John makes an appearance on this new EP.

Chuck Inglish, Convertibles (Federal Prism/Sounds Like Fun)
The producer/rapper who makes up one-half of The Cool Kids delivers his debut solo effort, co-produced by Incubus' Mike Einziger and featuring collabs with Chance the Rapper, Action Bronson, Ab-Soul, and Mac Miller among others, along with fellow Cool Kid Sir Michael Rocks and Canada's favorite electro funk duo, Chromeo. Listen to that track, "Legs" after the jump and find out what else has come out this week...

Colourmusic, May You Marry Rich (Memphis Industries)

Samuel Cooper, Treehouse (Mush)

Delain, The Human Contradiction (Napalm Records)

De Lux, Voyage (Innovative Leisure Records)

Denney and The Jets, Mexican Coke (Burger Records/Limited Fanfare Records)
Nashville's Denney and The Jets present their debut full-length, co-produced by Andrija Tokic (of Alabama Shakes' Boys and Girls), and according to the release, it explores "smokin', drinkin', cocaine, youth, rodeo clowns, fucking around, acquittal, the blues, family, being broke, pain pills, hangovers, strength, getting high, addiction, living and dying." Check "Mama's Got The Blues" below.

Divino Niño, Pool Jealousy (The Native Sound)

Duologue, Memex EP (Wild Game Records)

EMA, The Future's Void (Matador)

The Faint, Doom Abuse (SQE Music)
A fifth record from the Omaha indie rock/post-punk outfit. "Help in the Head" video below.

Girl Talk and Freeway, Broken Ankles (Datpiff)

Liam Finn, Nihilist (Yep Roc)

John Frusciante, Enclosure (Record Collection)

Horse Thief, Fear in Bliss (Bella Union)

Incan Abraham, Tolerance (White Iris Records)

Joan Osborne, Love And Hate (Entertainment One)

Martina McBride, Everlasting (Alliance Ent.)

The Mary Onettes, Portico (Labrador)

MercyMe, Welcome To The New (Fair Trade Services)

NØMADS, Free My Animal (Mecca Lecca)

OFF!, Wasted Years (Vice)

PUP, PUP (Sideonedummy)

Ratking, So It Goes (Hot Charity/XL)
Last year saw the hip hop group featuring emcees Hak, Sportinglife and Wiki touring with GZA, Death Grips, King Krule and Trash Talk as well as collaborating with legendary photographer and filmmaker Ari Marcopoulos. This is their debut LP, which attempts to channel the raw, unbridled energy of their live set with the warm soulful, golden-era hip hop they were weaned on; Young Guru (Jay-Z, The Diplomats, Notorious B.I.G.) engineers. Video for "Canal" below.

Sohn, Tremors (4AD)

Screaming Females, Live At The Hideout (Don Giovanni Records)

The Sleepwalkers, Lost My Mind in Stereo (self-release)

SoftSpot, MASS (self-release)

Squarepusher and Z-Machines, Music For Robots EP (Warp)
Last year, a team of Japanese roboticists were challenged to produce a music-performing system that stretched beyond the capabilities of even the most advanced musicians. The result: Z-Machines, a robo guitarist with 78 fingers and robo drummer with 22 arms. The roboticist’s musical producer, Kenjiro Matsuo, and his team, invited a number of Japanese composers as well as Squarepusher to develop music specifically for the project. Check out the video by award-winning director, Daito Manabe for "Sad Robots Goes Funny" — the first composition — below.

Sweet Apple, The Golden Age of Glitter (Tee Pee Records)

SZA, Z (Top Dawg)

Teebs, E s t a r a (Brainfeeder)

Todd Terje, It's Album Time (Olsen Records)

Thus Owls, Turning Rocks (Secret City)
Five-piece Montreal/Stockholm outfit Thus Owls is led by hubbie-and-wife duo Erika and Simon Angell. Their sounds is bizarre indie psych rock. Listen to "How In My Bones" below.

Young & Sick, Young & Sick (Harvest Records)

Scroll to read more Music News articles
Join the Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Creative Loafing Tampa Bay. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Creative Loafing Tampa Bay, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected]