New Music Tuesday! (August 20): Travis, Braids, John Mayer, No Age, Superchunk & more

Releases out this week; audio & video included.

A nice heaping of new music for the third week of August. Check out the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that came out over the past couple months.

Army Navy, The Crushed EP (The Fever Zone Records)
LA's jangly indie-pop trio presents a new six-song recording produced by Adam Lasus (Yo La Tengo, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah). Check out first single "Crushed Like the Car" below.

A$AP Ferg, Trap Lord (Polo Grounds/RCA)
It's another ASAP, this one Darold Ferguson Jr., 24, a hip hop artist from Harlem and member of the A$AP Mob collective. This is his first album. Among the guests, A$AP Rocky, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony and Wocka Flocka Flame.

Julianna Barwick, Nepenthe (Dead Oceans)

Andrew Belle, Black Bear (1L Music/Elm City)

Bent Shapes, Feels Weird (Father/Daughter Records)

Blessthefall, Hollow Bodies (Fearless)

Blue October, Sway (Up/Down Records)

Braids, Flourish // Perish (Arbutus)

Broken Anchor, Fresh Lemonade (Self-Release)

Joseph Childress, The Rebirths (Empty Cellar Records)

Crocodiles, Crimes of Passion (Frenchkiss)
From the press release: "Crimes Of Passion kicks off with 'I Like It In The Dark,' which could be their best to date; a joyous hymn to atheism, and closes with the aching beauty of 'Un Chant D'Amour,' a simple and direct ode to heartbreak. These songs bookmark an album bursting with sounds inspired by the likes of the Soft Boys, Street Hassle era Lou Reed, the Notorious Byrd Brothers, the Jackson 5 and even Glenn Branca. This is certainly the most fully realised Crocodiles album to date..." Click here to read CL's 2012 story on the band. Check out "Cockroach" courtesy of Brooklyn Vegan after the jump along with the rest of this week's new releases...

Daniel Kirkpatrick and The Bayonets, Alibis (Rock Ridge Music)

Destruction Unit, Deep Trip (Scared Bones)

Lee DeWyze, Frames (Vanguard)

DIANA, Perpetual Surrender (Jagjaguwar)

Diarrhea Planet, I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams (Infinity Cat)

Earl Sweatshirt, Doris (Tan Cressida/Columbia)
Earl Sweatshirt (real name Thebe Neruda Kgositsile) has a syrupy slow flow, a nasty mouth and mind, and a cross-eyed stare that belies the quick mind hiding behind them. He's a member of Los Angeles hip hop collective Odd Future. Check out "Hive" with Vince Staples & Casey Veggies below.

Fleshgod Apocalypse, Labyrinth (Nuclear Blast)

From a Fountain, Milky Mile (Self-Release)

The Goldberg Sisters, Stranger’s Morning (ApologyMusic)

Golden Suits, Golden Suits (Yep Roc)
The debut project from Fred Nicolau (Department Of Eagles) for debut. The lyric video below for "Swimming In '99" (below) was shot at various locations throughout Manhattan and Brooklyn, and features the same two wristwatches shown on the album's cover artw; one bought at the start and the other at the end of the tumultuous year that Nicolaus chronicles on the album.

The Green, Hawai‘i '13 (Easy Star Records)

Julia Holter, Loud City Song (Domino)

The Horse's Ha, Waterdrawn (Fluff & Gravy).

Illangelo, History of Man (Bromance US)

Jel, Late Pass (Anticon)

kandodo, k2o (Thrill Jockey)

The Kissaway Trail, Breach (Yep Roc)
Denmark's Kissaway Trail have made it through a period of internal strife that found two members dropping out of the quintet group and artistic upheaval as they learned to play as a threesome for this latest third record, which has upbeat-chugging shoegaze-y psych rock appeal. "The Springsteen Implosion" below.

Willy Mason, Carry On (Communion Records)

John Mayer, Paradise Valley (Columbia/Sony)

Native, Orthodox (Sargent House)

Sarah Neufeld, Hero Brother (Constellation)
A solo effort of violin arrangements from the Arcade Fire violinist, who's also a member of Bell Orchestre.

No Age, An Object (Sub Pop)

O’Brother, Disillusion (Triple Crown Records)

The Ongoing Concept, Saloon (Solid State Records)

Theo Parrish, Black Jazz Signature (Snow Dog Records)

Porcelain Raft, Permanent Signal (Secretly Canadian)

Propagandhi, How to Clean Everything (Fat Wreck Chords)

Pure Bathing Culture, Moon Tides (Partisan)

Ben Rector, The Walking in Between (Aptly Named Recordings)

Ty Segall, Sleeper (Drag City)

Shigeto, No Better Time Than Now (Ghostly International)

Ski Lodge, Big Heart (Dovecote Records)
It's an upbeat ambiguously Afro-surf pop outfit, and this is their sunny, rather charming debut record. NYC-based multi-instrumentalist singer-songwriter Andrew Marr wrote all of the lyrics and music, and played nearly every sound that ended up on the record, though the 26-year-old did lay down the record in a professional LA studio with producer Lewis Pesacov (Best Coast, Fool's Gold). Video for "Boy" below.

Soil, Whole (Pavement/AFM)

Still Life Still, Mourning Trance (Arts & Crafts)

Superchunk, I Hate Music (Merge)
The punky alt rock band that writes catchy choruses presents a new record that's been getting good reviews left and right. Check out the video for “Me & You & Jackie Mittoo” below.

Surf City, We Knew It Was Not Going to Be Like This (Fire Records)

Tedeschi Trucks Band, Made Up Mind (Sony Masterworks)

TGT, 3 Kings (Atlantic)
The first full-length release from the supergroup made up of Tyrese, Ginuwine and Tank.

Travis, Where You Stand (Red Telephone Box)

Typhoon, White Lighter (Roll Call Records)

Laura Veirs, Warp & Weft (Bella Union)

Watain, The Wild Hunt (Century Media)

White Lies, Big TV (Universal)

Zola Jesus, Versions (Sacred Bones)

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.