New Music Tuesday! (Jan. 31): Leonard Cohen, Metallica and more

With lots of audio and video.

Canyons, Keep Your Dreams (Modular)
The debut album from the LA-based electro-rock outfit mixes live and programmed instrumentation, and features guests like POND's Nick Albrook and Tame Impala frontman Kevin Parker, members of Nite Jewel (Ramona Gonzalez), the Embassy (Fredrik Liston) and the classic British rock band Sniff 'n' the Tears (Paul Roberts). Check out the video for lead single "My Rescue," which brings the idea of D&D live action role-playing to a whole new level.

Leonard Cohen, Old Ideas (Columbia)
The Canadian singer-songwriter issues his first new collection of music in eight years. According to the album's official press release, the album will "poetically address some of the most profound quandaries of human existence - the relationship to a transcendent being, love, sexuality, loss and death." Deep.

Lana Del Rey, Born To Die (Interscope)

The Doozer, Keep It Together (Woodsist)

Mike Doughty, The Question in a Jar Show (SNACK BAR Records/Megaforce)
Doughty hits town in support of this album and his new memoir, The Book of Drugs, both out next week; he stops at Inkwood Books at 6 p.m., then plays a show at Orpheum later that evening at 8 p.m. on Wed., Feb. 8. Stay tuned for Q&A with the former Soul Coughing frontman...

Candy Dulfer, Crazy (Razor & Tie)

Elephant Micah, Louder Than Thou (Time Lag Records)

Errors, Have Some Faith in Magic (Rock Action Records)
The third studio album from UK-based Errors, who call their music "post-electro." Sounds like present electro to me, but whatever... at least the video for “Pleasure Palaces” is pretty cool. Watch below.

Escort, Escort (Escort Records)
This album by the Brooklyn-based mod disco trio saw its digital release in November and made it to a few 2011 end-of-the-year lists. Now it sees its official physical release.

Ruthie Foster, Let it Burn (Blue Corn Music)

Gotye, Making Mirrors (Universal Republic)

Harriet, Tell The Right Story EP (self-release)
A new Los Angeles-based band fronted by former Dawes member Alex Casnoff.

Hospitality, Hospitality (Merge)

Imperial Teen, Feel The Sound (Merge)
San Francisco-based indie pop group Imperial Teen is led by guitarist/singer Roddy Bottum (of Faith No More) present their fifth LP. Listen to "Runaway" below.

The Jealous Sound, A Gentle Reminder (Music Is Subjective/Fontana)
To read Scott's review of the band's first new album in nine years, click here.

Doug Jerebine, Is Jesse Harper (Drag City)

Del McCoury Band, Old Memories: The Songs Of Bill Monroe (McCroury Music)
The Del McCoury Band's16-track tribute to Bill Monroe (released digitally and on vinyl in September 2011) received a Grammy nom for Best Bluegrass Album in December. This marks its official physical release

Metallica, Beyond Magnetic EP (Warner Bros.)

My Ticket Home, To Create a Cure (Rise)

One Model Nation, Totalwerks Vol. 1 (1969-1977) (The End Records)

Gretchen Peters, Hello Cruel World (Scarlet Letter)

The Pines, Dark So Gold (Red House Records)
Dreamy, gentle alt roots with pretty melodies, from Minneapolis. Mildly reminiscent of Bon Iver. Very nice. Watch the video for "Cry, Cry, Crow" below.

Prinzhorn Dance School, Clay Class (DFA)

Queen, Days Of Our Lives DVD (Eagle Rock)
A documentary about the band featuring interviews with living band members and unseen archive footage, including their recently unearthed, first ever TV performance.

Darrell Scott, Long Ride Home (Full Light)

Shigeto, Lineage (Ghostly International)

Soja, Strength to Survive (ATO)

Ringo Starr, Ringo 2012 (HIP-O Records/Ume)

Riotgod, Invisible Empire (Metalville Records)

The Soul Rebels, Unlock Your Mind (Rounder)

STYX, The Grand Illusion/Pieces Of Eight Live DVD (Eagle Rock Entertainment)

Ana Tijoux, La Bala (Nacional Records)

TS & The Past Haunts, Gone & Goner (No Sleep)

The 2 Bears, Be Strong (DFA)
The new project of Raf Daddy (aka Raphael Rundell) and Hot Chip's Joe Goddard.

Underworld, A Collection and Anthology 1992 - 2012 (Underworld Records)
Two compilations from the influential British electronic outfit. The former is a single-disc 16-track set of radio-edited highlights from the band's 20-year career alongside recent collaborations with High Contrast and Tiesto ("The First Note is Silent," VIDEO below), Mark Knight & D. Ramirez ("Downpipe") and Brian Eno ("Beebop Hurry"). The second three-disc anthology radically updates the band’s previous singles compilation with nine rare/previously unreleased tracks — from pre-"Dubnobasswithmyheadman" outtakes through to newly mixed live recordings.

Various Artists, Brazilian Beat (Putumayo)
World-music label/aggregator Putumayo has put together a collection of modern Brazilian hits that draws on MPB, samba, bossa nova, Afro-Beat and more by Brazuka Fina, Marcos Valle, Mônica da Silva, Rogê and others.

Joe Louis Walker, Hellfire (Alligator)

Jamie Woon, Mirrorwriting (Verve)

January closes with new records by a range of artists. I've included info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may never have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months ...

The Asteroids Galaxy Tour, Out Of Frequency (B.A.R. Music)
The Danish alt pop band featuring flaxen-haired vocalist Mette Lindberg and producer Lars Iversen present their second full-length. Check out the video for first single “Heart Attack” below.

Astral Doors, Jerusalem (Metalville Records)

Authority Zero, Less Rhythm More Booze CD/DVD (Suburban Noize/Viking Funeral)
Authority Zero’s second live acoustic album and DVD continues in the same vein as 2006’s Rhythm and Booze, but features one full show — July 2, 2010 in their hometown of Mesa, Az. — and the tracks that are given the acoustic treatment are off their latest two albums (2007’s 12:34 and 2010’s Stories of Survival).

Black Bananas, Rad Times Xpress IV (Drag City)

Bleeding Through, The Great Fire (Rise)

BT, Laptop Symphony (Black Hole Records)

Buxton, Nothing Here Seems Strange (New West)
Houston-based folk rock quintet Buxton present their third record overall and first for nationally distributed indie label New West. Check out "Boy of Nine" after the jump, along with the rest of this week's new releases...

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.