New music Tuesday! (January 10)

A retrospective of solo work by a post-Box Tops/pre-Big Star Alex Chilton, the new LP from Snow Patrol + more of this week's new releases (audio & video).

Various Artists, Electric Daisy Carnival Experience [DVD] (Ultra)
A documentary on the new electronic music festival; featuring performances by Afrojack, Benny Benassi, David Guetta, deadmau5, Duck Sauce, Fedde Le Grand, Kaskade, Major Lazer, Moby, MSTRKRFT, Simian Mobile Disco, Steve Aoki, Swedish House Mafia, and others.

Various Artists, Where Is Parker Griggs? (Alive Naturalsound)
A label compilation available in limited vinyl and digital formats with exclusive tracks by Radio Moscow, Hacienda, Buffalo Killers, Black Diamond Heavies and more! Check out the gospel-fused track "Everything That You Took" by Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires below.

Yo Gotti, Live From The Kitchen (J-Records)
The fifth album and major label debut from the Memphis-based emcee, who collaborated with producers Cool & Dre, Drumma Boy, and J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League along with A-list rappers Lil Wayne and T.I.

Young London, Young London (Tooth & Nail)

The first very small wave of new releases in 2012... I've included info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may never have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months ...

Brodinski, Fabriclive 60 (Fabric)

Alex Chilton, Free Again The '1970' Sessions (Omnivore)
The first solo recordings from a post-Box Tops/pre-Big Star Alex Chilton. The 20-track album was mixed and engineered by Terry Manning, and includes six previously unreleased songs. The first 1,500 LPs have been pressed on limited-edition clear vinyl (black vinyl thereafter). The album is also available digitally at all major online retailers, as well as the Omnivore Recordings site.

Keepaway, Black Flute (Greedhead Music)
Brooklyn-based trio presents their first album and debut on the label formed by Das Racist's Himanshu Suri as a digital 10-track download described as a mix of "instinctual pop music, post-hip-hop experimentation, and everywhere between."

Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Friends (Razor & Tie)
The 30-track collection includes collaborations with Paul Simon, Emmylou Harris, Josh Groban, Taj Mahal, Natalie Merchant, Sarah McLachlan, Dolly Parton and many others.

The Little Willies, For The Good Times (Milking Bull)

KG Omulo, Ayah Ye! Moving Train (self-release)

Red Wanting Blue, From The Vanishing Point (Fanatic)

Bill Ryder-Jones, If (Domino)

Snow Patrol, Fallen Empires (Universal Music Group)
The Irish alt rock outfit issues their sixth studio LP. Snow Patrol plays Jannus Live on March 31; tickets on sale Friday. Video for single "This Isn't Everything You Are" video after the jump along with the rest of this week's new releases.

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.