New Music Tuesday! (May 15): Tenacious D, Adam Lambert, Best Coast, Hot Water Music & more

This week's new releases, with audio & video.

Share on Nextdoor

Best Coast: The Only Place by Wichita Recordings

The Bombay Royale, You Me Bullets Love (HopeStreet Recordings)
The Bombay Royale is an 11-piece retro-Bollywood band and this is their debut album, a tribute to the cinematic sounds of 1970's Indian cinema with spaghetti guitar, screaming organs, dramatic strings and a hot ass brass section. The video for "You Me Bullets Love" is a three-minute epic with romance, kidnapping, kung fu, a Tiger, and a lush-cheeky dance sequence.

Cherri Bomb, This Is The End of Control (Hollywood)

Cornershop, Urban Turban (Ample Play Records)

Craft Spells, Gallery EP (Captured Tracks)

The Cribs, In the Belly Of The Brazen Bull (Wichita)

David Daniell and Douglas McCombs, Versions (Thrill Jockey)

Everyone Orchestra, Brooklyn Sessions (Harmonized Records)
Matt Butler is the maestro of this ongoing project featuring an ever-changing roster of musicians; this album features eight of his "conducted improvisational" songs recorded in-studio without multi-tracking and with minimal post production. The players include Jon Fishman (drummer, Phish), Reed Mathis (bassist, Tea Leaf Green), guitarist Steve Kimoch, Al Schnier (guitarist, moe.), mandolin whiz Jamie Masefield, Jen Hartswick (Trey Anastasio Band, vocals, trumpet) and sax master Jeff Coffin, among others. Watch a video about the Everyone Orchestra process below.

Godsmack, Live & Inspired (Universal Republic)
The first official Godsmack live album that includes a bonus four-track EP of newly recorded covers – "Rocky Mountain" "Way," "Come Together," "Time" and "Nothing Else Matters."

Hot Water Music, Exister (Rise)
The eighth full-length and first post-hiatus release from the seminal Gainesville punk/post-hard core band, which hasn't issued an album of original material since 2004's The New What Next.

Killer Mike, R.A.P. Music (Williams Street)
Atlanta-born rapper presents his self-proclaimed finest work to date, which was produced entirely by Brooklyn hip hop artist/producer El-P, and reflect on the socio-economic discrepancies and racism that still plague America today. The album's title acronym stands for "Rebellious African People's Music," and takes influences from gospel, jazz, soul, rock and funk.

Krizz Kaliko, Kickin & Screamin (Strange Music)
The rapper, singer and long time collaborator with fellow Kansas City hometown native Tech N9ne issues his fourth album on Tech's Strange label.

James & Evander, Bummer Pop (Velvet Blue)

Adam Lambert, Trespassing (RCA)

Man Forever, Pansophical Cataract (Thrill Jockey)

Meiko, The Bright Side (Fantasy/Concord)

mewithoutYou, Ten Stories (Pine Street)

Misser, Every Day I Tell Myself I'm Going To Be A Better Person (Rise)

Monophonics, In Your Brain (Ubiquity Records)

MV & EE, Space Homestead (Woodsist)

Willie Nelson, Heroes (Legacy)

The Nighthawks, Damn Good Time! (Severn)

Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band, One Of My Kind (Team Love)
The 2009 documentary was filmed in 2009 and looks at Oberst and his band on tour, in Mexico and in the midst of recording their new album, Outer South. The DVD is accompanied an album of outtakes by The Mystic Valley Band, and all the tracks from Gentleman's Pact EP.

Pantera, Vulgar Display Of Power: 20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition (Rhino/Atlantic)

PHILM, Harmonic (Ipecac)
The project of Slayer's Dave Lombardo, War's Pancho Tomaselli and Gerry Nestler of Civil Defiance. Lombardo has commented, "I have scaled down my drum set to a four-piece, reminiscent of the drummers from the late '60s that influenced me. Each song is unique in itself, I like to refer to it as 'rhythmic emotion.' It's almost like taking all the heavy songs of the '60s and bringing that era to a modern plateau, then blending them with the modern trance and psychedelic sounds of today."

John Pizzarelli, Double Exposure (Telarc)

Plankton Wat, Spirits (Thrill Jockey)

Lisa Marie Presley, Storm and Grace (Universal Republic)

Rosenkopf, Rosenkopf (Weird)

Rye Rye, Go! Pop! Bang! (Interscope)

Santana, Shape Shifter (Starfaith)

Shadows Fall, Fire From The Sky (Razor & Tie)

Ryan Shaw, Real Love (Dynotone)

Simian Mobile Disco, Unpaterns (Wichita)
The British electronic duo's third studio record. Video below for "Cerulean" was designed, directed and animated by Jack Featherstone and Will Samuel, for ISO studio.

Slugabed, Time Team (Ninja Tune)

Squarepusher, Ufabulum (Warp)

Sugarman 3, What the World Needs Now (Daptone)

Tenacious D, Rize of the Fenix (Columbia)
The highly anticipated return of a cheeky rock twosome who burned out after 2006’s The Pick of Destiny. Jack Black and Kyle Glass are finally rising from the ashes with new material... Listen to the title track below.

Tu Fawning, Monument (City Slang)

Various Artists, Occupy This Album (Razor & Tie)
A compilation inspired by the Occupy Wall Street movement, with 99 percent of proceeds “to go directly towards the needs of sustaining this growing movement… 99 artists, 99 tracks, for The 99%, a Soundtrack for the movement, Occupy This Album is a work that gives your voice back to music.” Among the performers – Jackson Browne, Ani DiFranco, Joan Baez, Willie Nelson, Patti Smith, Anti Flag, Girls Against Boys, Yoko Ono, Amanda Palmer, David Crosby & Graham Nash, Yo La Tengo, Mogwai and many more.

Violens, True (Slumberland)
The Brooklyn three-piece mixes percussive guitar, synthesizers and silky harmonies into a dark ’90s-flecked sonic pop sound.

Reggie Watts, A Live At Central Park (Comedy Central Records)

What Hearts, Do It In The Day (Glad I Did Recordings!)
Portland's What Hearts present a full-length of retro folk-pop. Video for "The Morning Crew" below.

White Fence, Vol. 1-2-Family Perfume (Woodsist)

Stephane Wrembel, Origins (Water Is Life)

Third Wave May. I've included info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months ...

Antsy McClain & the Trailer Park Troubadours, Heroes Last Forever: The Sun Studio Sessions (DPR)

Auto Body, Say What You Will EP (Self-Release)

Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires, There Is A Bomb In Gilead (Alive Naturalsound)
Bains deconstructs Deep South music, and re-assembles it as a mix of garage rock, soul and country. The title of the album comes from Bains mishearing an old hymn in church as a child. Check out the video for "Everything You Took" below.

Beach House, Bloom (Sub Pop)

Best Coast, The Only Place (Mexican Summer)
LA's infectious indie garage pop duo (songwriter, vocalist and guitarist Bethany Cosentino and multi-instrumentalist Bobb Bruno on bass, lead guitar and drums) presents their highly anticipated follow-up to 2010’s acclaimed Crazy For You. Producer and composer Jon Brion (Fiona Apple, Kanye West) manned the boards on Best Coast's sophomore effort, which was recorded at Capitol Records' famed Studio B. The title track is an ode to her home state of California, also referenced in the album cover, which was taken from a 1913 sheet music illustration paying homage to the golden state. Title track after the jump, along with the rest of this week's new releases.

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.