New Music Tuesday! (March 26): Lil Wayne, Wavves, Depeche Mode, The Strokes & more

Releases out this week; audio & video included.

Mwahaha, Mwahaha (Plug Research)
A worldwide re-issue of the band's self-titled debut album, with updated artwork and a few tracks not found on the original release. Listen to "" featuring guest vocals by TuneYards visionary Merrill Garbus.

Niagara, OTTO (Monotreme Records)
The collaborative project of Turin-based singers/producers Davide Tomat (TOMAT / N.A.M.B.) and Gabriele Ottino (N.A.M.B. / Milena Lovesick), blendy heady avant pop, electro and psychedelia into a magnetizing brew. Listen to the bright and charming "Seal" below.

Sevendust, Black out the Sun (7Bros. Records/WMGILG) l

Blake Shelton, Based On A True Story... (Warner Brothers)

Skizzy Mars, Phases Mixtape (Self-Release)

The Strokes, Comedown Machine (RCA)

Warm Soda, Someone For You (Castle Face)

Wavves, Afraid of Heights (Mom + Pop/Warner Bros.)
The wildly grungy-popular pop rock band presents a much-anticipated fourth album; Wavves is now a duo that encompasses guitarist Nathan Williams and bassist Stephen Pope. Check out "Demon to Lean On" video below, directed by BLACK // DOCTOR (Chris Black and MISTERDOCTOR).

Wax Idols, Discipline & Desire (Slumberland)

Wire, Change Becomes Us (Pink Flag)

Donovan Woods, Don’t Get Too Grand (Aporia/Outside)

Yard of Blondes, Murderology EP (High Desert Lo-Fi Records)
90s rock, re-done, crunchy.

The final wave of releases in March. Info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months.

Amaranthe, Nexus (Spinefarm Records)

The Black Lillies, Runaway Freeway Blues (self-release)

Crystal Bowersox, All That For This (Shanachie Entertainment)

Alex Calder, Time (Captured Tracks)

CHVRCHES, Recover EP (Glassnote)

Jace Clayton, The Julius Eastman Memory Depot (New Amsterdam)
The artist usually known as DJ Rupture issues his first album under his own dang name.

Crime & The City Solution, American Twilight (Mute)

The Cyclist, Bones In Motion (Stones Throw/Leaving Records)

Dengue Fever, In the Key Lines (Tuk Tuk)

Depeche Mode, Delta Machine (Columbia)

Diamond Version, EP4 12" (Mute)

DJ Koze, Amygdala (Pampa Records)

James Ferraro, Cold Mixtape (Self-Release)

The Horrors, Higher Box Set (XL Recordings)

Hot As Sun, Night Time Sound Desire (Last Gang Records)

Isbells, Stoalin' (Roll Call Records)
The Belgian darlings present their debut of introspective and wistful folk rock in the U.S.

Kvelertak, Meir (Roadrunner)

Lapalux, Nostalchic (Brainfeeder)

Lil Wayne, I Am Not a Human Being II (Young Money/Cash Money/Universal)
The highly anticipated 10th studio album from the New Oreans rapper. Rolling Stone wrote, "This is exactly the record you'd expect to hear from Weezy in 2013: a solid album by a brilliant MC who's half-interested."

LOGO, Cardiocleptomania (Kitsune)

Julian Lynch, Lines (Underwater Peoples)

The Milk Carton Kids, The Ash & Clay (Anti-)
The LA-based Americana/folk revival duo with sweet two-part harmonies by Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan present a new album. Check out the "Honey Honey" video after the jump along with the rest of this week's releases...


Since 1988, CL Tampa Bay has served as the free, independent voice of Tampa Bay, and we want to keep it that way.

Becoming a CL Tampa Bay Supporter for as little as $5 a month allows us to continue offering readers access to our coverage of local news, food, nightlife, events, and culture with no paywalls.

Join today because you love us, too.

Scroll to read more Music News articles

Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.