New Music Tuesday! (November 5): M.I.A., Eminem, Tennis, Luscious Jackson, Bright Eyes & more

Releases out this week; audio & video included.

The first round of new releases for November. Info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know), with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to check out releases that dropped over the past few months.

!!!, R!M!X!S EP (Warp)

Mark Berube, Russian Dolls (Bonsound)

Black Flag, What The… (SST)
You are reading right — this is a brand spanking new studio album from the seminal hardcore punk band, their seventh but first since 1985's In My Head. This lineup (not to be confused with the group calling itself FLAG and featuring former Black Flag vocalist Keith Morris, bassist Chuck Dukowski, and drummer Bill Stevenson) features founder Greg Ginn, 1979-era vocalist Ron Reyes, and drummer Gregory Moore, who played in Ginn's project Gone.

Blanche Blanche Blanche, Breaking Mirrors (Wharf Cat Records)

Blessed Feathers, Order of the Arrow (self-release)
PopMatters called the new album from Wisconsin duo Blessed Feathers, "an organic affair that grounds ascendent melodies with earthy folk structures." Donivan Berube and Jacquelyn Beaupre recorded their first studio LP with producer Kevin McMahon (Real Estate, The Walkmen, Titus Andronicus). The idea was to capture 'the polyrhythmic influences of 1960's African funk & blues and South American guitar patterns, but with Bruce Springsteen's "Nebraska" lyrics'. Listen to lead-off track "Ahbinreedis" after the jump, and find out about what else has dropped this week...

James Blunt, Moon Landing (Atlantic)

Bob Dylan, Bob Dylan Complete Album Collection Vol. One (Columbia)

Bright Eyes, Bright Eyes’ A Christmas Album (Saddle Creek)
Conor Oberst tries his hand at holiday tunes.

David Bowie, The New Day Collectors Edition (Columbia)

Cabaret Voltaire, #8385 (Collected Works 1984-1985) (Mute)

Celine Dion, Loved Me Back To Life (Columbia)

Connan Mockasin, Caramel (Mexican Summer)

Cut Copy, Free Your Mind (Vista/Modular)

Bryce Dessner/Kronos Quartet, Aheym (ANTI- Records)
The guitarist from The National composed music for the Seattle string quartet on this particular collaboration, described as "a gorgeous and compulsively listenable four-track album" by Rolling Stone.

Ejecta, Dominae (Driftless Recordings)

El Ten Eleven, Transitions EP (Self-Release)

Eminem, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 (Aftermath/Interscope)

Exit Ghost, Elston (Self-Release)

Howe Gelb, The Coincidentalist (New West)

Latyrx, The Second Album (Latyramid INC)
An alt hip hop group featuring Lyrics Born and Lateef the Truth Speaker.

Avril Lavigne, Avril Lavigne (Epic)

Le Trouble, Reality Strikes EP (Lava Records)
Montreal outfit Le Trouble crafts a pop-catchy mix of post-punk revival and indie garage rock with twinkling pop embellishments and melodies, all marked by dreamy pretty falsetto vocals. First single “Real Talk (Part 2)” below.

Luscious Jackson, Magic Hour (City Song)
A new LP from the reunited Luscious Jackson, the first new material from the all-female alt rock group since 1999's Electric Honey.

Mat Zo, Damage Control (Astralwerks)

The Melodic, Effra Parade (Anti-)

M.I.A., Matangi (Interscope)
The fourth full-length studio LP from the English-Sri Lankan songstress, initially inspired by her namesake, the Hindu goddess Matangi.

Melvins, Tres Cabrones (Ipecac Recordings)

Midlake, Antiphon (ATO Records)
The Denton, Texas sextet issues a fourth studio full-length of psychedelia and folk rock drive, and first since the departure of frontman Tim Smith. Video for title track below.

Sapphire Slows, Allegoria (Not Not Fun)

Scott Stapp, Proof of Life (Wind-Up Records)

Stryper, No More Hell to Pay (Frontiers Records)

Tech N9ne, Therapy (Strange Music)

Tennis, Small Sound EP (Communion Records)

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.