New Music Tuesday! (September 9): Ryan Adams, Karen O, Robert Plant, Interpol & more

Releases out today; audio & video included.

Share on Nextdoor

Here comes the second week of September and we’ve got a big ol’ doozie of brand new music. Info and links for the ones you want to know about most below, plus some other ones you may not have heard of (but should know) – with audio & video for your listening and viewing pleasure. Click here to see releases from the past several weeks…

Ryan Adams, Ryan Adams (PAX-AM)
I wish that I could say I liked new self-titled, self-produced effort from alt country rocker Ryan Adams. But one listen through and I can't find any reason to return to it — sounds alot like every heartland rock album ever made, but with less bite. It's his 14th overall and he's a rather prolific dude, so if you don't like this one, either, you won't have to wait long for him to shit out another one...

American Hi-Fi, Blood & Lemonade (Rude Records)

Avi Buffalo, At Best Cuckold (Sub Pop)

Rich Aucoin, Ephemeral (YEA)

Banks, Goddess (Harvest)

David Bazan & the Passenger String Quartet, David Bazan & the Passenger String Quartet (Undertow)
The Seattle-bred indie rock singer-songwriter behind Pedro the Lion & Headphones teamed re-recorded Pedro the Lion, Headphones and solo material with Passenger String Quartet — cellist Rebecca Chung Filice, viola player Seth May-Patterson, and violinists Alina To and Andrew Joslyn, the last also the quartet's ostensible leader. A live Tacoma Cathedrals performance of "Strange Negotiations" after the jump along with the rest of this week's new releases...

CULT TACOMA // Tacoma Cathedrals : David Bazan from The Art Dept. on Vimeo.

Better Than Ezra, All Together Now (The End)

Lee Brice, I Don't Dance (Curb)

The Britanys, It's Alright EP (self-release)

Billy Childs, Map To The Treasure: Reimagining Laura Nyro (Sony Masterworks)

Paul Collins, Feel the Noise (Alive Naturalsound)
A new outing from The Beat's frontman. 

Chick Corea, Trilogy (Stretch/Concord Jazz)

Crimson Shadows, Kings Among Men (Napalm Records)

Death From Above 1979, The Physical World (Last Gang/Warner Bros. Records)
The sophomore recording from influential dance-punk duo DFA 1979 — Jesse F. Keeler (bass, synths, backing vocals) and Sebastien Grainger (vocals and drums) — was produced by D. Sardy (Red Hot Chili Peppers, LCD Soundsystem, Oasis), and comes a decade after their acclaimed debut, You're A Woman, I'm A Machine. (They broke up in '06, reunited in '11 and have been fueling excitement about this album ever since...) "Trainwreck 1979" below.

Delta Spirit
, Into The Wide (Dualtone)

Duologue, Never Get Lost (Wild Game)

Flowers, Do What You Want To, It’s What You Should Do (Kanine)
The debut from a newish fuzzy pop trio from London — singer Rachel Kenedy, guitarist Sam Ayres, and drummer Jordan Hockley. Flowers came together via a Gumtree ad (the UK’s version of Craigslist) that read: “In search of a singer to make music like Madonna through a broken tape machine.” The video for first single "Joanna" is made up of footage the band found on the BFI National Archive YouTube page from 1921 titled "When a False Step Means Death."

The Glitch Mob, Drink The Sea (Shoot to Kill)

Valery Gore, Idols In The Dark Heart (self-release)

Greensky Bluegrass, If Sorrows Swim (Thirty Tigers)

Hiss Golden Messenger, Lateness Of Dancers (Merge)

Interpol, El Pintor (Matador)

Jhené Aiko, Souled Out (Def Jam)

Karen O, Crush Songs (Cult Records)

Lemonade, Minus Tide (Cascine)

David Mayfield, Strangers (Compass)

Odesza, In Return (Counter Records)

Oscillator Bug, Bursts Of The Million (DYMAXION GROOVE)

Robert Plant, Lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar (Nonesuch/Warner Bros)
The howling Led Zeppelin frontman presents his 10th solo effort and first with his backing band The Sensational Space Shifters — Justin Adams (bendirs, djembe, guitars, tehardant, backing vox), Liam "Skin" Tyson (banjo, guitar, backing vox), John Baggott (keys, loops, moog bass, piano, tabal, backing vox), Juldeh Camara (kologo, ritti, Fulani vocals), Billy Fuller (bass, drum programming, omnichord, upright bass) and Dave Smith (drums).

Rittz, Next To Nothing (Ingrooves)

Sean Rowe, Madman (Anti-)

SealionsNumber One Lover EP (Deer Bear Wolf)

Simian Mobile Disco, Whorl (Anti-)

Sloan, Commonwealth (Yep Roc)

Slow Magic, How to Run Away (Downtown)

Striker, City of Gold (Napalm Records)

Tennis, Ritual In Repeat (Communion)
The husband and wife duo (Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley) and purveyors of breezy pop music issue a third full-length produced by The Black Keys Patrick Carney, Spoon's Jim Eno and Richard Swift of The Shins. Listen to lead single “Never Work For Free” below.

Tiny Moving PartsPleasant Living (Triple Crown Records)

Justin Townes Earle, Single Mothers (Vagrant)

TrickyAdrian Thaws (False Idols)

The Ukiah Drag, In The Reaper's Quarters (Wharf Cat)

Vance Joy, Dream Your Life Away (Atlantic)

Loudon Wainwright III, Haven't Got The Blues (Yet) (429 Records)

YAWN, Love Chills (Old Flame Records)

YelleComplètement Fou (Kemosabe)

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.