Weekly Tune-Up: Electric Guest, Haim and Jamie Lidell lead a new music mixtape for hump day

Solar Bears, Lucius and Crumb are on the hour-long mix available for streaming and download now.

We're down to the final four weeks of 2016. I'll let that previous sentence resonate for a second.....Now, 2016 has been filled with some strong music, and it appears we might be treated to a few more gems before years end. In fact, I think we might have a couple on this new Tune-Up. Take a gander at a few of my faves for this week.

Harlem rapper Smoke DZA and Pete Rock have a new collabo record titled appropriately, Don't Smoke Rock. Fans (I'm one of those fans) who've been longing for some Pete Rock produced hip-hop should be pretty excited for this little known project. Pete Rock was a staple for my teen years, so to hear him still producing albums gives me joy. "Milestone' is a track that stood out for it's east coast vibe and piano loop beat. It's a small slice of late '90s hip-hop, or close as we might get. The track also features guest emcees BJ The Chicago Kid, Jadakiss and Styles P. Smoke DZA should be thankful that a legend like Pete Rock lent his immaculate production skills to this LP.

Chicago outfit Drama Duo is killing it with their debut album Gallows, an album I've spent quality time with. Out of the several great tracks, "Barely Friends" stuck to me after one listen. It's a song that cuts deep, a song that paints a vivid, but sad picture of love fading. A beautiful piano rolls alongside vocalist Via Rosa's somber lyrics. "Barely Friends" is a beautiful heartache worth several spins.

It's been a four year hiatus for indie-pop outfit Electric Guest, but they have given us an early Christmas gift in their new single "Dear To Me." Bursting with '80s synths, soulful yet sleek vocals and a harmony-rich chorus that features the HAIM sisters, "Dear To Me" might just be the feel-good winter jam of the season. Electric Guest's new record will be releasing in 2017, but an exact date or title has yet to be announced. Danger Mouse produced their underrated debut record Mondo, but It appears they'll be handling the boards for their new album.

Weekly Tune-Up XLII (Stream/Download)

01. The Dig, "Bleeding Heart (You Are The One)"

02. Lucius, "The Punisher"

03. Smoke DZA and Pete Rock. "Milestone" (Feat. BJ The Chicago Kid, Jadakiss & Styles P)

04. Khalid, "Reasons"

05. Slumbers, "Stay Hidden"

06. Slowes, "Something Special"

07. Drama Duo, "Barely Friends"

08. French Horn Rebellion, "Second Opinion" (Bee's Knees Remix)

09. Electric Guest, "Dear To Me" (Feat. HAIM)

10. Solar Bears, "After Yesteryear"

11. Jaime Lidell, "Don't Let Me Let You Go"

12. Wieuca, "Polyp"

13. Crumb, "Vinta"

14. Matt Woods, "Nothing Less"

15. MishCatt, "Devil's Sugar"

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.