Weekly Tune-Up: Tunes for your week by The National, Babeheaven, Nick Murphy and more

Tune up your hump day with a brand new playlist with new songs from The National, Babeheaven, and Nick Murphy featuring Kaytranada.


Have you ever felt defeated or just plain frustrated with life, and the only medicine is music? Well, your new Weekly Tune-Up is here to take your mind away for an hour, so just hit play and let it happen.

The National is one of those bands that doesn't receive the proper amount of recognition. Its been producing exceptional music for nearly 20 years, but many still don't know who the band is. "The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness" is the new melancholic single from the band's seventh album Sleep Well Beast, due September 8. The National never seems to shy away from heavy subject matter and this chorus proves that: "The system only dreams in total darkness. Why are you hiding from me? We’re in a different kind of thing now. All night you’re talking to God." With a cloudy premise, the song still carries a nice groove, and that mini guitar solo midway through is lovely.

Babeheaven's new track "Your Love" takes a step into a more classic R&B territory, and slightly away from its previous shoegaze atmosphere. "Your Love" still possess that chilled out vibe, but the percussion and Nancy Anderson's vocals prove that they can dabble in other sounds. The song itself is delicate and thought provoking, if not downright intimate. Babeheaven continues to impress.

Aussie musician Nick Murphy, formerly known as Chet Faker, has a new EP titled Missing Link, and it's been getting a lot of play at my house. "Your Time" is a song I've circled back to several times due to it's futuristic soulful sound, thanks in part to beatmaker KAYTRANADA, who is becoming an household name. It's sexy sleek.

Weekly Tune-Up LXIII — stream/download

01. The National, "The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness?

02. TOPS, "Dayglow Bimbo

03. Com Truise, "Isostasy"

04. Bleachers, "Everybody Lost Somebody"

05. Ruby Haunt, "Destroyer"

06. Hazel English, "I'm Fine"

07. Nick Murphy, "Your Time" (Feat. KAYTRANADA)

08. HAIM, "Right Now"

09. Fleet Foxes, "Fool's Errand"

10. Memoryy, "Not over You"

11. Childhood, "Californian Light"

12. Broken Social Scene, "Hug Of Thunder"

13. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart

14. Babeheaven, Your Love" (Feat. Deem Spencer)

15. Shallou, "Truth"

Scroll to read more Music News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.