All the Tampa Bay winners from Florida's 2022 midterm election

Michele Rayner, Kathy Castor among few Democratic wins in Florida election 2022

click to enlarge Michele Rayner, who won her race for Florida House in District 62. - Photo via micheleforfl/Facebook
Photo via micheleforfl/Facebook
Michele Rayner, who won her race for Florida House in District 62.
Election night is over, and while many Florida Democrats are licking their wounds, there are others who won and woke up ready to make positive change.

"Today is the first day, in two years, that I'm not actively running for office," Michele Rayner wrote on social media. "24 months. The rest I'm finna have."

Rayner, who won her race for Florida House District 62, thanked her supporters, said she'll celebrate soon and offered one piece of encouragement for Floridians who're pretty much having to swallow the fact their state is turning deep red.

"Lastly, Florida, you won't break my soul. Because at the end of the story—the people always win," Rayner said.

We'll see. Have a look at some Tampa Bay 2022 election results below.

U.S. Senate
Marco Rubio

U.S. Representative
District 13: Anna Paulina Luna
District 14: Kathy Castor
District 15 : Laurel Lee
District 15 : Vern Buchanan
District 17 : Greg Steube

Ron DeSantis

Attorney General
Ashley Moody

Chief Financial Officer
Jimmy Patronis

Commissioner of Agriculture

Wilton Simpson

Retention of Justices of the Supreme Court
Charles T. Canady: Yes
John D. Couriel: Yes
Jamie Grosshans: Yes
Jorge Labarga: Yes
Ricky Polston: Yes

State Attorney District 6
Bruce Bartlett

State Senate

District 11: Blaise Ingoglia
District 12 : Coleen Burton
District 14 : Jay Collins
District 16 : Darryl Rouson
District 18 : Nick Diceglie
District 21 : Ed Hooper
District 23 : Danny Burgess

State House

District 53: Jeff Holcomb
District 54: Randy Maggard
District 55: Kevin Steele
District 58: Kimberly Berfield
District 59: Berny Jacques
District 60: Lindsay Cross
District 61: Linda Chaney
District 62: Michele Rayner
District 64: Susan Valdes
District 65: Karem Gonzalez Pittman
District 66: Traci Koster
District 67: Fentrice Driskell
District 68: Lawrence McClure
District 69: Danny Alvarez
District 70: Mike Beltran
District 72: Tommy Gregory
District 73: Fiona McFarland

Florida state amendments

No. 1—Limitation on the Assessment of Real Property Used for Residential Purposes: No
No. 2—Abolishing the Constitution Revision Commission: No
No. 3—Additional Homestead Property Tax Exemption for Specified Critical Public Services Workforce: No

Hillsborough County Commission
District 1: Harry Cohen
District 2: Ken Hagan
District 5: Donna Cameron Cepeda
District 7: Joshua Wostal

Hillsborough County Judge Group 14

Melissa Black

Retention of Hillsborough District Court of Appeals Judges

Patricia Joan Kelly: Yes
Nelly N. Khouzam: Yes
Suzanne Y. Labrit: Yes
Matt Lucas: Yes
Robert Morris: Yes
Travis Northcutt: Yes
John K. Stargel: Yes
Craig. C. Villanti: Yes

Soil and Water Conservation
District Group 2: Ryan Gill
District Group 3: Adam Young

Hillsborough County referendum on transportation sales tax

Pinellas County Commission District 2

Brian Scott

Pinellas County Judge Group 1

Della Cope

Pinellas School Board

District 3: Dawn Peters
District 6: Stephanie Meyer

Pinellas County amendments and referendums

Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue referendum 1—Approve a fire district tax: Yes

Largo referendum 2—Selling city property for a potential recreational center: No

St. Petersburg referendum 1—Expansion of Dali Museum: Yes
St. Petersburg referendum 2—Authority to grant economic development tax exemption: Yes
St. Petersburg amendment 1—Change election schedule: Yes
St. Petersburg amendment 2—Change residency requirement for redistricting: Yes

Clearwater amendment 1—Bluff development project: Yes

Indian Shores amendment 1—Qualifications for office: Yes
Indian Shores amendment 3—Vice mayor rotation: No
Indian Shores amendment 4—Holding other offices: Yes
Indian Shores amendment 5—Charter offices: Yes

Madeira Beach amendment 1—Qualification and term of office: Yes
Madeira Beach amendment 2—Induction of newly elected member of board of commissioners: Yes

Treasure Island amendment 2—Signature requirement: Yes

About The Author

Ray Roa

Read his 2016 intro letter and disclosures from 2022 and 2021. Ray Roa started freelancing for Creative Loafing Tampa in January 2011 and was hired as music editor in August 2016. He became Editor-In-Chief in August 2019. Past work can be seen at Suburban Apologist, Tampa Bay Times, Consequence of Sound and The...
Scroll to read more Tampa Bay News articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.