Drive-By Truckers to release new album Jan. 22

Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley continue to be DBT’s primary songwriters, a relationship that started over twenty-two years ago when the two began playing together. The band’s longtime bassist, Shonna Tucker, makes her debut on Brighter Than Creation’s Dark as the band’s third writer, contributing three of the record’s nineteen tracks. Founding member John Neff, who has frequently guested on albums and onstage over the years, is an official member now, playing pedal steel and guitar. He and drummer Brad Morgan round out the band’s recording and touring line up.


Legendary Muscle Shoals keyboardist Spooner Oldham, to whom the album is dedicated, lends his unmistakable classic soul sound to the record, as he did for the band’s last tour. The album also marks the sixth time the band has worked with producer David Barbe, whose Chase Park Transduction studio in Athens, GA was the site of last summer’s recording.


DBT recently backed R&B vocalist Bettye Lavette on her critically acclaimed, Grammy®-nominated album The Scene of The Crime. The album is nominated for Best Contemporary Blues Album and was co-produced by Patterson Hood and long time DBT producer David Barbe.


Brighter Than Creation’s Dark Track Listing


1. Two Daughters and a Beautiful Wife


2. 3 Dimes Down


3. The Righteous Path


4. I’m Sorry Huston


5. Perfect Timing


6. Daddy Needs A Drink


7. Self Destructive Zones


8. Bob


9. Home Field Advantage


10. The Opening Act


11. Lisa’s Birthday


12. That Man I Shot


13. The Purgatory Line


14. The Home Front


15. Checkout Time In Vegas


16. You And Your Crystal Meth


17. Goode’s Field Road


18. A Ghost To Most


19. The Monument Valley


DBT on tour:


Mon Feb 11 Anaheim, CA HOUSE OF BLUES


Tue Feb 12 Los Angeles CA AVALON


Wed Feb 13 San Francisco CA MEZZANINE


Fri Feb 15 Portland OR ROSELAND


Sat Feb 16 Seattle WA SHOWBOX


Sun Feb 17 Seattle WA SHOWBOX


Tue Feb 19 Boise ID BIG EASY CONCERT HOUSE


Wed Feb 20 Salt Lake City UT THE PALADIUM


Thu Feb 21 Aspen CO BELLY UP


Fri Feb 22 Denver CO OGDEN THEATRE


Sat Feb 23 Boulder CO FOX THEATRE


Mon Feb 25 Omaha NE SLOWDOWN


Tue Feb 26 Columbia MO THE BLUE NOTE


Wed Feb 27 Urbana IL THE CANOPY CLUB


Thu Feb 28 Milwaukee WI PABST THEATRE


Fri Feb 29 St Louis MO THE PAGEANT


Sat Mar 01 Louisville KY HEADLINERS MUSIC HALL


Fri Mar 14 Memphis TN MINGLEWOOD HALL


Sat Mar 15 Nashville TN CANNERY BALLROOM


Sun Mar 16 Newport KY SOUTHGATE HOUSE


Tue Mar 18 Millvale PA MR. SMALL’S THEATER


Wed Mar 19 Toronto ONT OPERA HOUSE


Thu Mar 20 Montreal QUE CABARET MUSIC HALL


Fri Mar 21 Northampton MA PEARL STREET


Sat Mar 22 Boston MA PARADISE ROCK CLUB


Tue Mar 25 New Haven CT TOAD’S PLACE


Wed Mar 26 New York NY TERMINAL 5


Thu Mar 27 Philadelphia PA THE FILMORE AT THE TLA


Fri Mar 28 Richmond VA THE NATIONAL


Sat Mar 29 Asheville NC THE ORANGE PEEL

Got this email on Friday and for reasons beyond my control am just getting around to posting the info. I'm always stoked about a new DBT album, unfortunately, there's no Tampa Bay tour date announced. Not yet, anyway.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 14, 2007

DRIVE-BY TRUCKERS TO RELEASE

BRIGHTER THAN CREATION’S DARK

ON JANUARY 22, 2008

Back Catalogue Vinyl Available February 5

“The best hard rock band in America today.” — All Music Guide

Los Angeles, CA — New West Records will release the Drive-By Truckers’ eighth record, Brighter Than Creation’s Dark, on January 22, 2008, featuring 19 new songs, many of which were previewed during the band’s The Dirt Underneath tour last spring. Heralded by many critics as America’s best rock band, DBT will kick off the first leg of a new 29-city tour in support of the album on February 11th in Anaheim, CA. A four-song Brighter Than Creation's Dark EP will be available on December 18th at iTunes and all other DSPs (Rhapsody, Yahoo Music, MSN/Zune). The EP consists of “Two Daughters And A Beautiful Wife,” “3 Dimes Down,” “The Righteous Path,” and “The Purgatory Line.” Back catalog reissues of Gangstabilly; Pizza Deliverance; Decoration Day; The Dirty South; and A Blessing and a Curse will appear February 5, 2008as Limited Edition, 180 gram vinyl records. This is the first time most of these titles will be available on vinyl.

Scroll to read more News Feature articles
Join the Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state.
Help us keep this coverage going with a one-time donation or an ongoing membership pledge.

Newsletters

Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

We welcome readers to submit letters regarding articles and content in Creative Loafing Tampa Bay. Letters should be a minimum of 150 words, refer to content that has appeared on Creative Loafing Tampa Bay, and must include the writer's full name, address, and phone number for verification purposes. No attachments will be considered. Writers of letters selected for publication will be notified via email. Letters may be edited and shortened for space.

Email us at [email protected]