Vinyl Saturday and New Releases out Tuesday, June 16

Share on Nextdoor

[image-1]Until then, to hold you over, here are the New Releases out TODAY, June 16, 2009:


Dock Boggs - False Hearted Lovers Blues

Dock Boggs got his start playing in the mining camps while working in the mines all over the Appalachian region. In 1927 he got a contract with Brunswick Records and began recording and playing parties in the area. This collection represents his complete recordings from 1927-1929 when Dock was at the beginning and height of his short-lived recording career.

Green Day

- 21st Century Breakdown

- Nimrod

Hatebreed - For The Lions

Incubus - Monuments And Melodies

4LP-set for the price of, like, 2 and a half! New hits collection includes two new tracks, B-sides and rarities.

Red Hot Chili Peppers

- Freaky Styley

- Mother’s Milk

- Uplift Mofo Party Plan

Roxy Music

- Country Life

- Stranded

Repressed on HQ-180 vinyl. Each comes with a poster of the cover image.

Steel Pulse

- True Democracy

- Earth Crisis


- Time Flies + Rats

- Worlds Apart


Scott Walker - 30 Century Man

FINALLY!! Scott Walker gets some due in this documentary that examines his impact upon popular music. From his early days as a bass player on the Sunset Strip to his groundbreaking and wildly influential solo work, the film presents the truth about a true artist. With participation from Walker as well as insights from David Bowie, members of Radiohead, Brian Eno, Johnny Marr, WMNF's Laura Taylor (just kidding) and others.


1349 - Revelations Of The Black Flame

New release from the scorching band from Norway; deluxe edition has live tracks and a 20-page booklet for just two dollars more.

Apples In Stereo - #1 Hits Explosion

Big Star - #1 Record / Radio City

This newly remastered version of #1 Record / Radio City features enhanced packaging and two unreleased bonus tracks.

[image-3]Bubble Puppy

- A Gathering of Promises

Reissue of 1969 psych classic with 8 bonus tracks!

- Michael Buble Meets Madison Square Garden CD+DVD Live recording features performances of his many hits while the DVD features the 60-minute concert, plus two bonus songs.

Rodney Carrington - El Nino Loco

He has no plans of changing his approach.

Will Downing - Classique

Will Downing returns with his fourteenth collection of sensual grooves and true love primers.

George Harrison - Let It Roll: The Songs Of George Harrison

George Harrison’s first-ever career-spanning solo hits collection. Special packaging includes a 28-page booklet featuring previously unseen and rare photos, and new liner notes by Warren Zanes.

[image-4]Incubus - Monuments And Melodies

New hits collection includes two new tracks and a bonus disc of B-sides and rarities.

Jonas Brothers - Lines, Vines And Trying Times

Candye Kane - Superhero

Having recently beaten pancreatic cancer, Superhero showcases her renewed energy and new lease on life,

Kim Lenz And The Jaguars - It’s All True!

WMNF and Gabe Ech. favorite. Twelve [image-5]

Major Lazer - Guns Don’t Kill People... Lazers Do

Major Lazer is the super producer duo of Switch and Diplo, best known for their work with M.I.A and Paper Planes, as well as production work for Santigold, Amanda Blank, Bondo do Role (Diplo) and Tricky (Switch).

Lee Phil - So Long, It’s Been Good To Know You

With thirty years of roadwork and songwriting, Nashville singer/songwriter Phil Lee is the real deal. You can hear it in the vivid imagery that his lyrics present, with stories of worker-bee illegals, truck-driving killers, rats, weasels, and humans with rodent-like qualities. Lee's is a world of people on the literal and figurative outskirts, straight out of Springsteen's Nebraska, just a little further south and with a sense of humor.

Masada Quintet featuring Joe Lovano - Stolas: Book of Angels Volume 12

This is a true jazz supergroup featuring Joe Lovano, Dave Douglas, Uri Caine, Greg Cohen, Joey Baron and John Zorn.

Dee Dee Ramone - History On My Arms

With documentary DVD..

Spinal Tap - Back From The Dead CD w/DVD

R[image-6]e-imagined versions of all the hits from the classic movie, plus new tracks and an hour-long DVD featuring a newly recorded track-by-track commentary by David St. Hubbins, Nigel Tufnel and Derek Smalls.

Street Sweeper Social Club - Street Sweeper Social Club

Tom Morello and Boots Riley are Street Sweeper Social Club. This eleven-song set features Riley on vocals, Morello on guitar and bass, and Stanton Moore (Galactic) on drums.

UFO - The Visitor

Brand new material for those who actually care.

Rhonda Vincent - Destination Life

The seven time IBMA Female Vocalist of the Year returns with a stellar lineup of new, original and classic bluegrass songs. The album features her award-winning touring band in their first studio appearance.

The Waifs - Live From The Union Of Soul

[image-7]The Wallflowers - Collected: 1996-2005

With leader Jakob Dylan overseeing its production and compiling the track list, the 16-track Collected: 1996-2005 is the definitive look at a critically-acclaimed favorite.

Hank Williams Jr. - 127 Rose Avenue

Holly Williams - Here With Me

The hip granddaughter of Hank Williams and daughter of Hank Jr. has created an album that wears the influence of some of her favorite artists (Tom Waits, Cat Stevens, Bob Dylan, Robert Johnson, Jackson Browne).


From the folks who brought us "Record Store Day" comes "Vinyl Saturday." Once a month, we'll be waxing you poetic with special, limited releases made specially available on Vinyl Saturday. If you're interested in any of the limited editions, you may want to get to the store early — they won't last long! The first Vinyl Saturday is this coming Saturday,  June 20, and will feature:


This is a special 7" single being released 10 days before new album (WILCO, the album comes out on 7/3)! Limited to a run of 3,800, the 7" includes the tracks "You Never Know" and "Unlikely Japan," an early 2003 version of the previously unreleased track "Impossible Germany."


The vinyl version of the CD Single "Know Your Enemy" will be available at Vinyl Fever on 6/20. This vinyl is limited to 5000, and is NUMBERED. The b-side is an unreleased studio track called "Hearts Collide."


Second in a series of 7" singles being released. This one is entitled "Autumn Beds" and the b-side is "Whale Song."


These two are releasing an album in September through Rhino (not to be confused with the Pete Yorn release on 6/23 through Sony), and we'll have an advance 7" with a duet from both of them AND a Pete Yorn demo on the other side.

ALSO, the following artists have vinyl scheduled for a street date of 6/23, but us indie retailer participants are getting them EARLY, so we can sell them to you on 6/20:

Al Green (classic reissues) - Those Darlins - Wolves In The Throne Room - Wino - Patterson Hood - Earth - Woggles - Chesterfield Kings - Cocktail Slippers and more.

Scroll to read more News Feature articles


Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.