News Feature

Florida Republicans continue to target local emergency orders

Counties or cities also would be required to prove their actions are “narrowly tailored,” serve a “compelling governmental interest” and are done with the “least intrusive means.”

By Jim Turner and News Service of Florida

Lawmakers continued to move forward Tuesday with efforts to limit local-government emergency orders, despite arguments by Democrats that the proposals are a state overreach. The Senate Military and Veterans Affairs, Space and Domestic Security Committee voted 4-3 along party lines to approve a bill (SB 1924) that sponsor Manny Diaz Jr., R-Hialeah, said could be merged into a larger package...

  • Jacob Marley’s Christmas Carol

    @ American Stage Theatre Company

    Wed., Dec. 8, 7 p.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 7 p.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 7 p.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 2 p.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 7 p.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 7 p.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 2 p.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 7 p.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 7 p.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 7 p.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 2 & 7 p.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 2 p.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 7 p.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 2 & 7 p.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 7 p.m., Fri., Dec. 31, 7 p.m. and Sun., Jan. 2, 2 p.m.

  • or

Newsletters

Join Creative Loafing Tampa Bay Newsletters

Subscribe now to get the latest news delivered right to your inbox.

This Florida mansion comes with a gigantic 'man cave' and an indoor gun range

A Florida house with an absurdly large space dedicated to stereotypical guy stuff is now on the market. Located at  11409 Manatee…

By Colin Wolf

This Florida mansion comes with a gigantic 'man cave' and an indoor gun range
89 slides

The former Tampa home of MLB pitcher Chris Perez is for sale, and it comes with a stage floor once used by Elvis

[image-1]While Elvis Presley's prized 24-karat gold-painted grand piano is prominently  displayed at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Tampa, another…

By Colin Wolf

The former Tampa home of MLB pitcher Chris Perez is for sale, and it comes with a stage floor once used by Elvis
39 slides

Sarasota’s iconic midcentury modern ‘ZigZag House’ is now for sale

Following an award-winning renovation job, one of Florida's most iconic midcentury modern homes is back on the market. Located at 1332 Westway…

By Colin Wolf

Sarasota’s iconic midcentury modern ‘ZigZag House’ is now for sale
66 slides

These before-and-after photos show how much Tampa has changed in the last 15 years

[image-71]Whether we go back 15 years or 3 months, parts of Tampa are almost completely unrecognizable. Of course, with change comes the…

By CL Staff

These before-and-after photos show how much Tampa has changed in the last 15 years
71 slides

Digital Issue

December 2, 2021

View more issues